Links, Videos & Resources.

Why the Bike? What’s the big deal? Aren’t bikes – well, sort of passé? Old school? Only for kids, hippys, odd-balls? Old fashioned! Low-tech! Past-their-useby-date! Impractical! Why do we need the bike? What’s the value of the bike in my life? How could I be happier, healthier, fitter, feeling better (and better-off) by using a bike? Herewith some answers…

  1. Close to Home:

Bike Adelaide  http://bikeadelaide.blogspot.com.au A blog about making Adelaide, South Australia, safer and better for pedestrians and cyclists

DPTI’s Cycling Website  http://www.dpti.sa.gov.au/cycling  News, laws, bike routes, new investment…

Greenways & bike boulevards http://www.infrastructure.sa.gov.au/major_projects/greenways_project  Greenways Project website – how Greenways work, progress to date…

Find Your Way: Adelaide Cycle Maps  https://www.sa.gov.au/topics/transport-travel-and-motoring/cycling/cycling-maps  BikeDirect & CycleInstead route finding…

S.A. Bike Laws & Bike Lanes   https://www.sa.gov.au/topics/transport-travel-and-motoring/motoring/roads-and-traffic/traffic-control/bicycle-lanes  Using Adelaide’s bike lanes, understanding the bike laws…

Adelaide Cyclists  http://www.adelaidecyclists.com  The Ride Adelaide forum – wisdom from other bicycle users…

Bike Adelaide  http://bikeadelaide.blogspot.com.au  A blog about making Adelaide safer and better for people who ride bikes. Edward’s site is local, extremely well informed & thought provoking at a strategic level.

  1. What Makes the Netherlands Special!

 A View From the Cyclepath  http://www.aviewfromthecyclepath.com/  Cycling safety, cycling convenience – what it takes!

Bicycle Dutch  http://bicycledutch.wordpress.com  All about cycling in the Netherlands

  1. Bike Australia/Australasia:

 Steven Fleming on Cycle Space.  http://cycle-space.com/category/blog  Cycle-Space: New Castle-based Architecture and Urban Design in the Age of the Bicycle

Helmet Laws  http://freedomcyclist.blogspot.com.au  Freedom Cyclist vs Helmet Laws

 Cycling in Christchurch  http://cyclingchristchurch.co.nz  Cycling in Christchurch: Regular People Riding Bikes. 

Australian Bicycle Council http://www.bicyclecouncil.com.au  Coordinating the National Cycling Strategy.

AustRoads  http://austroads.com.au.tmp.anchor.net.au/abc/cycling-resource-centre  The Cycling Resource Centre: an information hub for Australian transport & recreation cycling.

  1. Inspiration From Elsewhere:   

Cyclist.ie  http://www.cyclist.ie  The Irish Cycling Advocacy Network.

Northern Ireland Greenways  http://preludetorevolution.tumblr.com  Cycling revolution in Ireland

Hans on the Bike  http://urbancommuter.wordpress.com  Bike revelations from Ottawa

Bike Portland  http://bikeportland.org  Cycling action from USA ‘bike central’…

  1. Active Mobility/Sustainable Transport – What’s It About?

The New Mobility  http://newmobilityagenda.blogspot.com.au/2009/08/john-whitelegg-on-global-transport.html  Active Transport – Active Mobility…

World Streets  https://worldstreets.wordpress.com/2015/12/21/the-three-worlds-of-cycling-2

World Streets: The Politics of Transport in Cities – Thinking out loud about sustainable transport, sustainable cities and sustainable lives – and the importance of immediate action

Victoria Transport Institute  http://www.vtpi.org  Inspirational thinking from Todd Litman

International Transport Forum  Cycling, Health and Safety – ITF-OECD Joint Transport Research Centre

http://www.internationaltransportforum.org/about/about.html

European Cyclists Federation  http://www.ecf.com  The voice for bicycle use across Europe…

  1. Good Bike Blogs:

Rachel Aldred  http://rachelaldred.org  Radical truths from the UK…

The Ranty Highwayman  http://www.therantyhighwayman.blogspot.co.uk/  A UK engineer’s adventures in ‘Active Travel’, highways and transport…

Cycling Embassy of Great Britain  http://www.cycling-embassy.org.uk/blog  Making riding a bike as easy as riding a bike. The Cycling Embassy of Great Britain has a great (usually) weekly roundup of blogs on various topical subjects. It is most worthwhile.

At War With The Motorist  http://waronthemotorist.wordpress.com  Dispatches from the UK front…

 The Alternative Department for Transport… http://departmentfortransport.wordpress.com/  I am not a cyclist, I am a free man! I am not a cyclist, but I do sometimes ride a bike.

Pictures Speak Louder than…  

Cyclodeo  http://cyclodeo.com/#/  Recording World’s Bike Paths Together

Bicycle Dutch Youtube Channel https://www.youtube.com/user/markenlei  Amazing bicycle videos…

Copenhagencyclechic  http://www.copenhagencyclechic.com  Urban Cycling for the 99%

Cycling Copenhagen  http://www.streetfilms.org/cycling-copenhagen-through-north-american-eyes  Cycling Copenhagen – Through North American Eyes

Bicycle Video.

Lessons from the Adelaide Longbike.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s